Every year in Quill, thirteen-year-olds are sorted into categories: the strong, intelligent Wanteds go to university, and the artistic Unwanteds are sent to their deaths

Thirteen-year-old Alex tries his hardest to be stoic when his fate is announced as Unwanted, even while leaving behind his twin, Aaron, a Wanted. Upon arrival at the destination where he expected to be eliminated, however, Alex discovers a stunning secret--behind the mirage of the "death farm" there is instead a place called Artime.

In Artime, each child is taught to cultivate their creative abilities and learn how to use them magically, weaving spells through paintbrushes and musical instruments. Everything Alex has ever known changes before his eyes, and it's a wondrous transformation.

But it's a rare, unique occurence for twins to be separated between Wanted and Unwanted, and as Alex and Aaron's bond stretches across their separation, a threat arises for the survival of Artime that will pit brother against brother in an ultimate, magical battle.
Paperback, 416 pages
Published on July 10, 2012 by Aladdin
ISBN-10: 1442407697
ISBN-13: 9781442407695
104 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
to use your custom avatar.
  • BookN3rdTuesday, November 14, 2017 at 4:25 pm
    GREAT SERIES. From 1-7 I was clenching my desk and holding on, hoping to find out what would happen next. Fans of this book? Make sure to check out Lisa’s new book Going Wild. I recommend it.
    • alexWednesday, October 25, 2017 at 6:13 am
      I love unwanteds 1+2
      • hydythegreat
        hydythegreatSaturday, October 21, 2017 at 4:34 pm55 stars
        I love it so far! A story of two lands, one of harsh judgement where only the "strong survive" and a land of art and peace! Definitely suggest it to fantasy lovers.
        • SkgThursday, October 12, 2017 at 2:24 pm
          I love the book, and love the books 1-7 and the new series dragon captives #1!
          • SophiaThursday, October 12, 2017 at 2:22 pm
            I love the UNWANTEDS it’s awesome! I read books 1-7 and the new series dragon captives #1
            • annette
              annetteMonday, September 4, 2017 at 1:05 pm44 stars
              This book starts out at a slightly disturbing but captivating way, but it is still a great book. The plot is a classic dystopian story line, where people are separated into groups and then some are killed while others are saved. This book though has it's own feature that make it unique to others. I think it was a great read.
              • georgiasilver
                georgiasilverThursday, August 24, 2017 at 11:54 am
                Knowing the author's name, I suspect a very satisfying tale brewing inside this book. The title gives away the fact that it will tell of a very action packed and mysterious world that I have not yet discovered or stumbled upon until now.
                • maddyloveshorse
                  maddyloveshorseThursday, July 27, 2017 at 11:34 am55 stars
                  Thirteen-year-old Alex lives in Quill where every year the thirteen-year-olds get sorted into wanted or unwanted. Wanted kids go to university and Unwanted kids are killed, so when Alex is announced as an Unwanted he tries to hold himself together. But instead of the death he had expected he and the other Unwanteds learn to be creative. 5 out of 5.
                  • luna83281
                    luna83281Tuesday, July 18, 2017 at 9:12 pm55 stars
                    i checked this book out from my library once and i love it. i am disappointed in the twins parents and hate Aaron.if you ask me that kid is a snobby stuck up coward that is afraid of change.if you ask me, my fave character is Alex. he is just happened even though he gets impatient sometimes he is great.i love this book so much and i was upset when i thought that was the only books.so imagine my surprise when 5 days later i see a book on my librarian's desk that said it was the sequal of the first book.
                    • selina
                      selinaMonday, June 26, 2017 at 3:32 pm55 stars
                      Thirteen year old Alex is in no position to be with his brother Aaron any longer. Aaron is one of The Wanteds. Aaron shall stay in the land where he grew up. Alex isn't so lucky. He is one The Unwanteds. Alex will be going to Artime where he will be doing things that aren't the same as The Wanteds are. During his time in Artime, he makes friends, enemies and more friends. Soon enough though, he will become mortal enemies whith his own brother just because both aren't together anymore and feel like the other is a threat to all.