Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 4 - 7n/a5.768014
Every year in Quill, thirteen-year-olds are sorted into categories: the strong, intelligent Wanteds go to university, and the artistic Unwanteds are sent to their deaths

Thirteen-year-old Alex tries his hardest to be stoic when his fate is announced as Unwanted, even while leaving behind his twin, Aaron, a Wanted. Upon arrival at the destination where he expected to be eliminated, however, Alex discovers a stunning secret--behind the mirage of the "death farm" there is instead a place called Artime.

In Artime, each child is taught to cultivate their creative abilities and learn how to use them magically, weaving spells through paintbrushes and musical instruments. Everything Alex has ever known changes before his eyes, and it's a wondrous transformation.

But it's a rare, unique occurence for twins to be separated between Wanted and Unwanted, and as Alex and Aaron's bond stretches across their separation, a threat arises for the survival of Artime that will pit brother against brother in an ultimate, magical battle.
Paperback, 416 pages
Published on July 10, 2012 by Aladdin
ISBN-10: 1442407697
ISBN-13: 9781442407695
148 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
Sign in to use your custom avatar.
  • seniorgato12345
    seniorgato12345Tuesday, June 19, 2018 at 8:38 pm55 stars
    This book starts with a tense situation, and then it thrills you into imagination and wonder. This is by far the best of Lisa McMann's books. Though I don't like the others in the series, this one stands out. I would recommend this book to kids 9-12 years old.
    • unicorn992
      unicorn992Tuesday, June 19, 2018 at 6:09 pm55 stars
      sooooooo good. my favorite book and series. it is full of twists and turns like you cant imagine! it is so creative and empowering. i would recommend this
      • heghog
        heghogTuesday, June 19, 2018 at 5:49 pm55 stars
        this series is one of the best it is a good read for readers of all ages. it inspires imagination and perseverance. i highly recommend this for other readers
        • eybook2018
          eybook2018Saturday, June 16, 2018 at 7:13 pm
          The Unwanteds is about magic and mystical animals. I really did not enjoy it like others but it's an ok book though. And it's also long.
          • applemango
            applemangoFriday, June 15, 2018 at 3:07 pm55 stars
            I had this book for a very long time in my room but I didn't read it....but then thanks to dogo I had a chance to read this book! And trust me it is a very fun book!..................
            • JamesaBoyFriday, June 8, 2018 at 3:38 am
              I read the book and it's so awesome every little detail is amazing but anyway I love it I think that the squirrelicorn was creative and funny and then when Alex kissed Lani it was so cute but anyway I would give this book a million stars out of a million stars but they don't have that on here so I'll just give it a five.
              • readingvalkyrie
                readingvalkyrieWednesday, June 6, 2018 at 6:16 pm33 stars
                I liked this book, but it's not an all time favorite. For me it's a little too similar to Harry Potter and some other books that I've read before. I ended up reading the first two books and stopped midway in book #3. I did love Rufus the "squirrelicorn"- I mean OMG, that's really creative! The thing that I didn't like is the switching of character point of view. I didn't like reading from the brother's point of view. The brother is a snob. Plus, the book didn't have many cliffhangers to keep me reading.
                • annette
                  annetteWednesday, June 6, 2018 at 6:57 am44 stars
                  The Unwanteds is an amazing novel with lots of plot twists and cool characters. In a world where creativity is bad, and you are killed if you like art, 13-year-old Alex is sentenced as an unwanted to be murdered. But before he is killed he meets a magician that hides all the unwanted children in a secret world where creativity is a gift and a weapon! This fun book is full of many fun adventures.
                  • snicker9
                    snicker9Monday, June 4, 2018 at 4:23 pm55 starsFeatured
                    The Unwanteds is a book set in Quill, a dystopian world. Every year the 13-year olds are sorted. The strongest and intelligent Wanteds are sent to the university, while the creative and imaginative Unwanteds are killed. Everyone expects Alex to be sent to his death and his twin Aaron to be sent to the university, and their predictions almost come true. Aaron is deemed a Wanted, and Alex an Unwanted. However when Alex and the other kids are ushered into the gates of their death camp, they find that they are not to be put to death at all, but instead join another world where all the Unwanteds take refugee. They have formed a secret school, and learn how to increase their talents and learn magic. However Alex is determined to let Aaron know he is alive, and he wants to bring his brother over away from the cruelty of Quill. Will Alex fit into his new home? Will he keep his bond strong with Aaron? Will the good magic be able to reign over evil? I absolutely love this book! There were twists and turns, and so many surprises! I recommend this book to middle grade ages and up. Probably the best minimum age is 11 or 12, since there are many action scenes, with some violence. I rate this book 5 out of 5 stars.
                    • lees
                      leesSaturday, June 2, 2018 at 8:13 am
                      I love how it starts all mysterious and kinda like hunger games... I it is very fascinating. I also love the twin thing and all the magic involved. This is an amazing book.