The Dragonet Prophecy (Wings of Fire, Book 1)

The Dragonet Prophecy (Wings of Fire, Book 1)

By Tui T. Sutherland

333 ratings 489 reviews 368 followers
Book 1 of 13 in the  Wings of Fire Series
Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 3 - 5n/a569911
A thrilling new series soars above the competition and redefines middle-grade fantasy fiction for a new generation!

The seven dragon tribes have been at war for generations, locked in an endless battle over an ancient, lost treasure. A secret movement called the Talons of Peace is determined to bring an end to the fighting, with the help of a prophecy -- a foretelling that calls for great sacrifice.

Five dragonets are collected to fulfill the prophecy, raised in a hidden cave and enlisted, against their will, to end the terrible war.

But not every dragonet wants a destiny. And when the select five escape their underground captors to look for their original homes, what has been unleashed on the dragon world may be far more than the revolutionary planners intended . . .

Publisher: Scholastic Press
ISBN-13: 9780545349185
ISBN-10: 0545349184
Published on 7/1/2012
Binding: Hardcover
Number of pages: 336

Book Reviews (474)

Add a Rating

if you like dragons you will like this book it is all about it

i loved it sooo much all the books are fun i recemend this book a ton if you ever read it i hope you like it

Wings of fire is 100% the best series ever! I'm reading the series for the eighth time and am currently on the sixth book. But this is about the the first book, The Dragonet Prophecy, a fantasy written by Tui T. Sutherland. It's about five dragonets, a SeaWing, SandWing, MudWing, NightWing and SkyWing (The SkyWing was killed as an egg so they replace it with a RainWing) who are chosen to stop a war that has been raging on for eighteen years. The Dragonets are raised in a hidden cave under a mountain. They have not been outside for even two seconds of their life. When the Dragonets realize that Glory (RainWing) is in danger of being killed by their guardians because she is not the SkyWing that the Prophecy "needs" they decide to escape from under the mountain and risk everything just to save Glory. Even if it means getting captured by the evil SkyWing queen and nearly getting them all killed.

this book was a AMAZING kick off for the story making you care about the main characters and get invested in all of their backgrounds a amazing kickstarter.

Such a good book! I couldn't put it down and read one book every day! If you liked this book, the rest in this series is a must-read!!!

I like the interesting adventure of the dragonets ,and I enjoy reading it everywhere this is one of my favorite book!I recommend this book

I love this book and the entire series because it is fantasy fiction, and contains excitement, humor, and good characters. In the book, a dragon named Clay and his four friends are supposedly "dragonets of destiny", meaning they have to stop the war between all the dragon tribes. The first five books of the series are all in the plot, leaving this book at a cliffhanger. Read to find out what happens in the book!

Clay and the four other dragonets of the 'prophecy' are trying to escape the clutches of the dragons who want to keep them until it is time for them to stop the war. Many say their destany is false. these dragons do want a desteny . they will find their way back to their homes.I am on book nine out of 15, and the first 6 are my favorite.

My favorite book in this series is Moon Rising!!

Show More