Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 3 - 5n/a4.346523
“Folks say Old Auntie takes a girl and keeps her fifty years—then lets her go and takes another one.”
Thirteen-year-old Daniel Anderson doesn’t believe Brody Mason’s crazy stories about the ghost witch who lives up on Brewster’s Hill with Bloody Bones, her man-eating razorback hog. He figures Brody’s probably just trying to scare him since he’s the new kid . . . a “stuck-up snot” from Connecticut. But Daniel’s seven-year-old sister Erica has become more and more withdrawn, talking to her lookalike doll. When she disappears into the woods one day, he knows something is terribly wrong. Did the witch strike? Has Erica been “took”?
Paperback, 272 pages
Published on September 6, 2016 by HMH Books for Young Readers
ISBN-10: 0544813103
ISBN-13: 9780544813106
80 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
Sign in to use your custom avatar.
  • hiTuesday, June 5, 2018 at 5:12 pm
    this book is good
    • citipoderihypu
      citipoderihypuThursday, May 31, 2018 at 7:38 am44 stars
      if you like mystery and scary books you should read this book is about a guy losing his sister. when he moved to a new house her sister started acting strange. then one day his sister ran in the woods and he got injured so he couldn't keep up with her. read the book if you wanna know more about it.
      • caitlynm00000
        caitlynm00000Wednesday, May 23, 2018 at 8:48 am
        it is a veary scary book it is about ghosts and there is a movie about it
        • giannimillion
          giannimillionWednesday, May 23, 2018 at 7:58 am55 stars
          The part of this book is amazing it is so scary though it make me feel like it's actually happening.
          • cookiehead3
            cookiehead3Saturday, May 19, 2018 at 11:09 am55 stars
            I read this book in 6th grade and it took me three days to read. It was interesting. I don't want to spoil anything so, I'm going to try not to say anything to spoil it. The book includes an interesting plot about a boy name Daniel and his sister Erika. Every 50 years Old Auntie takes a girl to be her servent until the next 50 years comes and then she releases her, but takes another girl. One day Daniel finds a girl who's been missing for 50 years but, she was in a child's form. Shortly after that, Erika goes missing. Should Daniel believe the stories about Old Auntie and her pet? What should Daniel do to get his sister back? Read Took to find out what happens! :D
            • kc17
              kc17Friday, May 18, 2018 at 2:33 pm55 stars
              I would recommend this book to anyone. The cover looks creepy but it is not that bad. The author creates a lot of cliff-hangers. The author makes you think. This book is outstanding. I would rate this book a five out of five. This author put a lot of time in her books. This repels so many emotions. It makes you scared, happy and sad all at the same time. You have to read it.
              • geli30283
                geli30283Friday, May 18, 2018 at 12:06 pm55 stars
                This book was amazing!
                • MayThursday, May 17, 2018 at 8:10 am
                  its cool i would read it a million time if i had the chance
                  • brainiacbossboyFriday, May 11, 2018 at 9:35 am
                    cool
                    • luke bryanThursday, May 10, 2018 at 10:47 am
                      It was scary and i like scary books. It was one of the best books i have ever read.