Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 3 - 5n/a4.346523
“Folks say Old Auntie takes a girl and keeps her fifty years—then lets her go and takes another one.”
Thirteen-year-old Daniel Anderson doesn’t believe Brody Mason’s crazy stories about the ghost witch who lives up on Brewster’s Hill with Bloody Bones, her man-eating razorback hog. He figures Brody’s probably just trying to scare him since he’s the new kid . . . a “stuck-up snot” from Connecticut. But Daniel’s seven-year-old sister Erica has become more and more withdrawn, talking to her lookalike doll. When she disappears into the woods one day, he knows something is terribly wrong. Did the witch strike? Has Erica been “took”?
Paperback, 272 pages
Published on September 6, 2016 by HMH Books for Young Readers
ISBN-10: 0544813103
ISBN-13: 9780544813106
83 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
Sign in to use your custom avatar.
  • harsha Saturday, December 8, 2018 at 11:53 pm
    i loved it but scary
    • RachelWednesday, October 24, 2018 at 4:35 pm
      I HAVE THE BOOK IRL
      • scared you Saturday, October 13, 2018 at 9:45 am
        cool
        • PersonTuesday, October 2, 2018 at 9:53 pm
          This book is great for a little horror and a lot of bravery. It is a lot about mystery and I have one opinion. Auntie is a great person!
          • hiTuesday, June 5, 2018 at 5:12 pm
            this book is good
            • citipoderihypu
              citipoderihypuThursday, May 31, 2018 at 7:38 am44 stars
              if you like mystery and scary books you should read this book is about a guy losing his sister. when he moved to a new house her sister started acting strange. then one day his sister ran in the woods and he got injured so he couldn't keep up with her. read the book if you wanna know more about it.
              • caitlynm00000
                caitlynm00000Wednesday, May 23, 2018 at 8:48 am
                it is a veary scary book it is about ghosts and there is a movie about it
                • giannimillion
                  giannimillionWednesday, May 23, 2018 at 7:58 am55 stars
                  The part of this book is amazing it is so scary though it make me feel like it's actually happening.
                  • cookiehead3
                    cookiehead3Saturday, May 19, 2018 at 11:09 am55 stars
                    I read this book in 6th grade and it took me three days to read. It was interesting. I don't want to spoil anything so, I'm going to try not to say anything to spoil it. The book includes an interesting plot about a boy name Daniel and his sister Erika. Every 50 years Old Auntie takes a girl to be her servent until the next 50 years comes and then she releases her, but takes another girl. One day Daniel finds a girl who's been missing for 50 years but, she was in a child's form. Shortly after that, Erika goes missing. Should Daniel believe the stories about Old Auntie and her pet? What should Daniel do to get his sister back? Read Took to find out what happens! :D
                    • geli30283
                      geli30283Friday, May 18, 2018 at 12:06 pm55 stars
                      This book was amazing!