Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 9 - 12Grades 4 - 6n/a5.795667
Read the sequel to the New York Times #1 best-selling book. The movie adaptation of Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children is now a major motion picture from visionary director Tim Burton, staring Eva Green, Asa Butterfield, Ella Purnell, Samual L. Jackson, and Judi Dench.

Like its predecessor, this second novel in the Peculiar Children series blends thrilling fantasy with vintage photography to create a one-of-a-kind reading experience.

September 3, 1940. Ten peculiar children flee an army of deadly monsters. And only one person can help them—but she’s trapped in the body of a bird. The extraordinary journey that began in Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children continues as Jacob Portman and his newfound friends journey to London, the peculiar capital of the world. There, they hope to find a cure for their beloved headmistress, Miss Peregrine. But in this war-torn city, hideous surprises lurk around every corner. And before Jacob can deliver the peculiar children to safety, he must make an important decision about his love for Emma Bloom.
Paperback, 416 pages
Published on February 24, 2015 by Quirk Books
ISBN-10: 1594747350
ISBN-13: 9781594747359
18 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
Sign in to use your custom avatar.
  • libster04
    libster04Wednesday, May 9, 2018 at 10:06 am55 stars
    The first book was AMAZING! and this book is also AMAZING. However, you have to read the first book first, otherwise it will make zero sense. The book stats right where it left off, which I really like.
    • Rachel DMonday, May 7, 2018 at 2:24 pm
      This book was truly amazing! I love how it has so many plot twist. This is a book that will not even make some one who hates reading bored. I 100% recommend, but you need to read the first book first.
      • RyMonday, October 16, 2017 at 12:23 pm
        I love it
        • greenninja999
          greenninja999Thursday, October 20, 2016 at 12:46 pm
          i haven't read this book yet, but i read the first one. u have to read all 3 books to kinda get the whole movie. SPOILER: there is a third book, but i don't know what the title is yet...
          • merrycoolster
            merrycoolsterThursday, September 15, 2016 at 8:30 pm55 stars
            I've decided to read this book as the first one was amazing and I just had to read the sequel. So, I am finished with this book and it is as good as its predecessor. It picks up where it started and Jacob and his "peculiar" friends go try to find Miss Peregrine's friend, Miss Wren, to change Miss Peregrine back to human again. Of course they meet a lot of trouble along their adventure, and Jacob evolves his powers further. I recommend this book for anyone who read the first; it is worth it!
            • lolgirl123
              lolgirl123Tuesday, May 17, 2016 at 9:40 am
              I love the first one! Must read this one NOW‼️‼️‼️‼️‼️‼️‼️‼️
              • ari_l
                ari_lSunday, February 7, 2016 at 11:37 am55 stars
                I read the first one for book club and it was awesome!!! highly recommend you read it before december when the first movie comes out.
                • hermione19
                  hermione19Saturday, September 26, 2015 at 10:56 am
                  Hollow City is an amazing book! It is so well written and extremely entertaining! I would definitely recommend this novel, and also the first book in the series, Miss Peregrine's Home for Peculiar Children! If you are waiting for the next Harry Potter book, this is a must read!
                  • macrol
                    macrolTuesday, September 22, 2015 at 8:39 am
                    I love mystery and ghost and strange books reviews look really good
                    • gabdip
                      gabdipTuesday, September 22, 2015 at 5:55 am
                      Want to read this book so bad just the cover drags me into the book great book review except for the spoilers! But the spoilers aren't that bad! Great job!!!!