Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 3 - 5U5.098248
The first book in Chris Colfer's #1 New York Times bestselling series The Land of Stories about two siblings who fall into a fairy-tale world!
Alex and Conner Bailey's world is about to change, in this fast-paced adventure that uniquely combines our modern day world with the enchanting realm of classic fairy tales.

The Land of Stories tells the tale of twins Alex and Conner. Through the mysterious powers of a cherished book of stories, they leave their world behind and find themselves in a foreign land full of wonder and magic where they come face-to-face with the fairy tale characters they grew up reading about.

But after a series of encounters with witches, wolves, goblins, and trolls alike, getting back home is going to be harder than they thought.
Paperback, 464 pages
Published on July 2, 2013 by Little, Brown Books for Young Readers
ISBN-10: 0316201561
ISBN-13: 9780316201568
254 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
Sign in to use your custom avatar.
  • FairyTaleloverFriday, December 14, 2018 at 6:05 pm
    I love finding out what happens after the fairy tales happen!
    • CatLadySaturday, December 8, 2018 at 3:38 pm
      Chris Colfer did an EXTRAORDINARY job of writing this novel!! It is full of surprises, suspense, danger, and adventure. It was an interesting book with awesome characters.I really loved the part where Red Riding Hood thought that Froggy was perfect husband materiel. P.S.I really love CATS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!And more CATS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!I have 2.
      • CatLadySaturday, December 8, 2018 at 2:52 pm
        I LOVED this book!!!
        • LiliFriday, November 30, 2018 at 10:37 am
          The Land Of Stories, The Wishing Spell (Book One) by Chris Colfer is one of my favorite books. Alex and Conner Bailey have had a rough life. Their dad just passed away, and their mom had to sell their beautiful house and bookstore. Their grandma and mom are the closest people they have to their dad. When a mysterious book is passed down to Alex, weird things start happening. The Bailey twins get trapped in the book! Alex and Conner encounter wolves, frogmen, and Queen Red Riding Hood. The Land Of Stories is a six book series, so all series lovers would enjoy this series. Mostly girls 4th grade and up will like this book, but it's for anyone who wants to read it. I hope you will enjoy this magical series!
          • MadisonThursday, November 8, 2018 at 4:48 pm
            I love this book! I have read it so many times i have practically memorised it
            • MadisonThursday, November 8, 2018 at 4:45 pm
              book so many times it is my favorite book
              • wibba
                wibbaWednesday, November 7, 2018 at 5:13 pm55 stars
                very intriguing mysteries!
                • MysteryWednesday, November 7, 2018 at 3:43 pm
                  Really enjoyable series, with lots of comedy and action, while it also have lots of deep sad moments with the Baileys.
                  • SportyCaleSunday, October 28, 2018 at 9:20 pm
                    This was a really good book review you should become a author when your older. when i read your book review it made me want to read it on the spot Good Job. :}
                    • lindsagatasabad
                      lindsagatasabadFriday, October 26, 2018 at 3:50 pm55 stars
                      It’s a really awesome book.