Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 3 - 5U5.098248
The first book in Chris Colfer's #1 New York Times bestselling series The Land of Stories about two siblings who fall into a fairy-tale world!
Alex and Conner Bailey's world is about to change, in this fast-paced adventure that uniquely combines our modern day world with the enchanting realm of classic fairy tales.

The Land of Stories tells the tale of twins Alex and Conner. Through the mysterious powers of a cherished book of stories, they leave their world behind and find themselves in a foreign land full of wonder and magic where they come face-to-face with the fairy tale characters they grew up reading about.

But after a series of encounters with witches, wolves, goblins, and trolls alike, getting back home is going to be harder than they thought.
Paperback, 464 pages
Published on July 2, 2013 by Little, Brown Books for Young Readers
ISBN-10: 0316201561
ISBN-13: 9780316201568
240 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
Sign in to use your custom avatar.
  • unicorn time Tuesday, September 11, 2018 at 5:50 pm
    my sister recommended it and I rate it 5 stars.
    • dabeastcoolman
      dabeastcoolmanSunday, September 9, 2018 at 9:55 am55 stars
      I decided to read this book because my friend recommend it to me and I rated it 5 stars because it shows when you work together, big things can happen.
      • rainawave
        rainawaveThursday, September 6, 2018 at 11:56 am44 stars
        This book is so good! I have read the whole series
        • katniss122
          katniss122Friday, August 17, 2018 at 11:11 am55 stars
          Alex and Conner Bailey were living a pretty average life in till they discover that their cherished fairy tale book is actaully a portal to the fairy tale world. Suddenly they are face to face with the characters the grew up reading about! But there is a problem the only way home is a mysterious spell known a the "Wishing Spell" and it is not excatly easy to activate plus the Evil Queen also despratly wants the spell and will do anything in her power to get it before they do. Alex and Conner must brave the magical world together so they can get home safe and sound. Soon they are on a dangerous adventure meeting all the characters in the stories they grew up reading and some of them aren't what they thought they would be. Can they brave the world and get home? I highly suggest this book to anyone who loves fantasy with hints of comedy mixed in.
          • ginevraweasley
            ginevraweasleyWednesday, August 8, 2018 at 3:17 pm55 starsFeatured
            It all starts when Alex and Conner Bailey discover a magical and mysterious fairytale book that is a family heirloom. By accidentally they get sucked into the mystical land of fairytales . Quickly they discover the Wishing Spell, a spell that requires a lot of rare magical objects such as: one Cinderella’s glass slippers, a lock of Repunzel’s golden hair and other objects that have to do with fairytales. They decide that if they can get all of those items, then they will wish that they were back at home. On top of all of this, the Evil Queen is hot on their trail (the one that tried to kill Snow White) also determined to get the rare objects for herself to activate the spell. Do Alex and Conner get home, or are they stuck in the land of fairytales forever? I enjoyed this book because of the sense of adventure and suspense. Chris Colfer does a amazing job describing everything with such precision!
            • FiTuesday, July 24, 2018 at 4:58 pm
              I loved the book from the beginning
              • natTuesday, June 12, 2018 at 7:39 am
                this book was so good i have read he series 3 times no joke i really recommend these books
                • EllaMonday, June 11, 2018 at 10:04 am
                  I really loved this book! It keeps you on the edge of your seat! I never wanted to set the book down!
                  • 23unicorncat
                    23unicorncatThursday, May 31, 2018 at 8:52 am55 stars
                    ITS COOL
                    • firegod2
                      firegod2Wednesday, May 30, 2018 at 10:59 am55 stars
                      freinds what a great book hope you liked the book i sher did