Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 4 - 6n/a5.997462
The fifth book in Chris Colfer's #1 New York Times bestselling series The Land of Stories!

The Masked Man has captured all the royal families from the Land of Stories with the help of his army of literature's greatest villains, including the Wicked Witch of the West, the Queen of Hearts, and Captain Hook. With his sinister plan finally in motion, he is eager to destroy the families and take his place as emperor.

Alex and Conner know they are no match against the Masked Man's legion of villains, but they realize that they may be in possession of the greatest weapon of all: their own imaginations! So begins the twins' journey into Conner's very own stories to gather an army of pirates, cyborgs, superheroes, and mummies as they band together for the ultimate fight against the Masked Man.

Meanwhile, an even more dangerous plan is brewing--one that could change the fates of both the fairy-tale world and the Otherworld forever.

Conner's tales come alive in the thrilling fifth adventure in the #1 New York Times bestselling Land of Stories series.
Paperback, 464 pages
Published on June 13, 2017 by Little, Brown Books for Young Readers
ISBN-10: 031638321X
ISBN-13: 9780316383219
43 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
Sign in to use your custom avatar.
  • bossdude6
    bossdude6Tuesday, September 18, 2018 at 5:53 pm55 stars
    read the 1 book first !
    • bean_boy
      bean_boyThursday, April 5, 2018 at 4:01 pm55 starsFeatured
      Chris Colfer's 5th addition in his magical series is my favorite one yet. Filled with laughs and thrills it will keep you reading past your bedtime. I personally love The Land of Stories: An Author's Odyssey because it provides a glimpse into a kids (Connor) imagination and I think others will to. I recommend this book because it's such an enjoyable read and is an awesome continuation of the series and battle between the evil villains and Connor and his friends. The message I got from this book is think outside the box and have hope.Some people wouldn't enjoy the take on travelling into Connor's stories and "reading" about them but I thought Colfer used a unique writing style which made the story really fun to read. I recommend this book for ages 9+ and give it 5/5 stars. Happy readings! bean_boy12
      • bookwormilg
        bookwormilgSunday, February 18, 2018 at 7:56 pm55 stars
        This was a super crazy book, full of adventure, humor, and and it may be one of the best in the Land of Stories series. My favorite of Connner's sotories is his pirate story with Auburn Sally and her crew on the Dolly Llama.
        • ziva_david
          ziva_davidThursday, February 15, 2018 at 11:50 am55 stars
          I must say ... it wasn't boring. After reading about Auburn Sally, I thought I could never like Conner's other stories. " Galaxy Queen" was my favorite of Conner's stories. Now all I want to know is what happened to Froggy!
          • hailey1032
            hailey1032Monday, January 29, 2018 at 3:39 pm55 stars
            I read the whole series in 2nd grade!!!
            • cookinggirl
              cookinggirlSaturday, January 13, 2018 at 8:13 am55 stars
              This is my 2nd or 3rd favriot book of this series. Alex and Conner travel into Conners books and they finally end the masked man once and for all. The masked mans army is still out and they need more people to help defeat them.
              • sally0221
                sally0221Tuesday, January 9, 2018 at 7:26 pm44 stars
                The CRAZIEST of the Land of Stories series!!!!!!! Robots, pirates, hearts, monkeys... Include them all! Let's go on a journey of Conner's TERRIFIC, WILD, AND MAGICAL stories! STARBUST!! I would really give 5 stars (or even 10 STARS!) but i really wanted to save that for a better book. First of all, I think this book is a great start to the FANTASY WORLD and also a great book for even advanced readers! With a quite wide range of genre, i really recommend it to someone who perhaps had dreamed of witches, large flying duck, fairies, fairy tales and folk tales, and M.A.G.I.C.
                • tori3ghoul
                  tori3ghoulMonday, November 27, 2017 at 1:51 pm44 stars
                  This was my second favorite book in the series, after Book 3. In this one, using the book portal liquid, Conner and Alex travel inside Conner's short stories to gather up a team to beat the Masked Man. Conner's stories are unique, like my own stories I've written are.
                  • bluemoonlight
                    bluemoonlightWednesday, November 1, 2017 at 12:00 pm44 stars
                    I am reading this book right now its awesome!
                    • firedragon68
                      firedragon68Wednesday, June 14, 2017 at 3:09 pm
                      I loved the other books of The Land Of Stories!!! There is a new one now!? :)