Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 4 - 6n/a5.997462
The fifth book in Chris Colfer's #1 New York Times bestselling series The Land of Stories!

The Masked Man has captured all the royal families from the Land of Stories with the help of his army of literature's greatest villains, including the Wicked Witch of the West, the Queen of Hearts, and Captain Hook. With his sinister plan finally in motion, he is eager to destroy the families and take his place as emperor.

Alex and Conner know they are no match against the Masked Man's legion of villains, but they realize that they may be in possession of the greatest weapon of all: their own imaginations! So begins the twins' journey into Conner's very own stories to gather an army of pirates, cyborgs, superheroes, and mummies as they band together for the ultimate fight against the Masked Man.

Meanwhile, an even more dangerous plan is brewing--one that could change the fates of both the fairy-tale world and the Otherworld forever.

Conner's tales come alive in the thrilling fifth adventure in the #1 New York Times bestselling Land of Stories series.
Paperback, 464 pages
Published on June 13, 2017 by Little, Brown Books for Young Readers
ISBN-10: 031638321X
ISBN-13: 9780316383219
45 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
Sign in to use your custom avatar.
  • auntieb
    auntiebWednesday, December 5, 2018 at 1:37 pm44 stars
    This book was very fast paced. But very good. What happens when Alex and Connor travel into Connor's short stories? Lots of adventures, lots of secrets, and lots of discoveries! Dive deep into the mind (and writing) of Connor Bailey!! - I absolutely loved how Connor's characters are based on the fairytale characters but in different ways then what I thought!!
    • I’m on conneit Monday, October 15, 2018 at 10:47 am
      The book is great I love the wishing spell the enchantress and all the others I find them very interesting
      • bossdude6
        bossdude6Tuesday, September 18, 2018 at 5:53 pm55 stars
        read the 1 book first !
        • bean_boy
          bean_boyThursday, April 5, 2018 at 4:01 pm55 starsFeatured
          Chris Colfer's 5th addition in his magical series is my favorite one yet. Filled with laughs and thrills it will keep you reading past your bedtime. I personally love The Land of Stories: An Author's Odyssey because it provides a glimpse into a kids (Connor) imagination and I think others will to. I recommend this book because it's such an enjoyable read and is an awesome continuation of the series and battle between the evil villains and Connor and his friends. The message I got from this book is think outside the box and have hope.Some people wouldn't enjoy the take on travelling into Connor's stories and "reading" about them but I thought Colfer used a unique writing style which made the story really fun to read. I recommend this book for ages 9+ and give it 5/5 stars. Happy readings! bean_boy12
          • bookwormilg
            bookwormilgSunday, February 18, 2018 at 7:56 pm55 stars
            This was a super crazy book, full of adventure, humor, and and it may be one of the best in the Land of Stories series. My favorite of Connner's sotories is his pirate story with Auburn Sally and her crew on the Dolly Llama.
            • ravenclaw35
              ravenclaw35Thursday, February 15, 2018 at 11:50 am55 stars
              I must say ... it wasn't boring. After reading about Auburn Sally, I thought I could never like Conner's other stories. " Galaxy Queen" was my favorite of Conner's stories. Now all I want to know is what happened to Froggy!
              • raven4life
                raven4lifeMonday, January 29, 2018 at 3:39 pm55 stars
                I read the whole series in 2nd grade!!!
                • cookinggirl
                  cookinggirlSaturday, January 13, 2018 at 8:13 am55 stars
                  This is my 2nd or 3rd favriot book of this series. Alex and Conner travel into Conners books and they finally end the masked man once and for all. The masked mans army is still out and they need more people to help defeat them.
                  • sally0221
                    sally0221Tuesday, January 9, 2018 at 7:26 pm44 stars
                    The CRAZIEST of the Land of Stories series!!!!!!! Robots, pirates, hearts, monkeys... Include them all! Let's go on a journey of Conner's TERRIFIC, WILD, AND MAGICAL stories! STARBUST!! I would really give 5 stars (or even 10 STARS!) but i really wanted to save that for a better book. First of all, I think this book is a great start to the FANTASY WORLD and also a great book for even advanced readers! With a quite wide range of genre, i really recommend it to someone who perhaps had dreamed of witches, large flying duck, fairies, fairy tales and folk tales, and M.A.G.I.C.
                    • tori3ghoul
                      tori3ghoulMonday, November 27, 2017 at 1:51 pm44 stars
                      This was my second favorite book in the series, after Book 3. In this one, using the book portal liquid, Conner and Alex travel inside Conner's short stories to gather up a team to beat the Masked Man. Conner's stories are unique, like my own stories I've written are.