Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 4 - 10R5.742328
This award-winning contemporary classic is the survival story with which all others are compared—and a page-turning, heart-stopping adventure, recipient of the Newbery Honor.

LOST

Brian Robertson, sole passenger on a Cessna 406, is on his way to visit his father when the tiny bush plane crashes in the Canadian wilderness. With nothing but his clothing, a tattered windbreaker, and the hatchet his mother had given him as a present, Brian finds himself completely alone.

Challenged by his fear and despair -- and plagued with the weight of a dreadful secret he's been keeping since his parent's divorce -- brian must tame his inner demons in order to survive. It will take all his know-how and determination, and more courage than he knew he possessed.
Paperback, 224 pages
Published on October 3, 2017 by Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers
ISBN-10: 1481486292
ISBN-13: 9781481486293
303 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
Sign in to use your custom avatar.
  • echofan360
    echofan360Wednesday, December 12, 2018 at 6:36 pm11 starFeatured
    This book doesn’t describe the overall setting thoroughly enough that, so the depiction of the book’s setting, might vary depending on the readers perspective. The were also lots of thing that Brian could’ve done to prevent worse situations; like the time he started the fire; most scouts/outdoorsman should know that to start a fire you should start off the fuel with the same amount of (estimated) mass, as your heat source. We also know that Brian’s mom thought of him as a scout, and that he watched lots of camping television. So, it would’ve been common knowledge for him. The book is also a bit irrelevant and outdated, since it was published in the 1970s. But, with a few more modern twists, it could help relate Brian to today’s kids.
    • lolmaggie123
      lolmaggie123Tuesday, December 4, 2018 at 4:29 pm
      I'm reading this book in class for a packet we have to do. It has many twists and turns but be warned that you WILL gag!!!!! :( Everyone should read it tho
      • PalexisTuesday, November 27, 2018 at 12:21 pm
        We give this book 5/5 stars. It has lots of interesting plot twists and lots of adventure. Dat is why we give this book a very 10 out of 10 rating. :)
        • olimpia5223
          olimpia5223Sunday, November 25, 2018 at 5:38 am55 stars
          Sad story but is interesting. It is kind of like a survival story guide of how to survive in the woods when the plane ✈ has crashed in the middle of a forest. Love this book.
          • AndrewWednesday, November 7, 2018 at 6:02 pm
            This book was amazing i really enjoyed it we just finished it in class. I love the outdoors and this book is basically what I love to do.
            • hcsdoh.orgMonday, October 29, 2018 at 7:33 am
              I think this might be a good book
              • stormWednesday, October 24, 2018 at 11:46 am
                it is ok
                • jennaWednesday, October 24, 2018 at 10:29 am
                  This book is really nice, it has alot of detel in the book. it really makes me think thsat i am there in the forest with him
                  • amelialover24
                    amelialover24Thursday, September 13, 2018 at 10:23 am11 star
                    This book not to be mean but I do not like it. it was very boring unless you want to bored out dont read this books but i like @tcwgaming that I gues that u have difrent feelings but sainara
                    • its_tcwgaming
                      its_tcwgamingFriday, September 14, 2018 at 11:52 am33 stars
                      I think it would have been more interesting if he had a companion like another person or even a dog. It was a little boring because he didnt say anything the book just expressed his thoughts.
                    • its_tcwgaming
                      its_tcwgamingMonday, September 10, 2018 at 12:02 pm33 stars
                      What an amazing book! Makes me wanna pack up my hatchet and fly with an inexperienced pilot over the Canadian woods!! This is a great adventure story about a boy that is flying from his moms house to his dads house in Canada. but along the way his pilot has a heart attack! They plummet down into a lake in the Canadian wilderness. Brian manages to escape before the plane with the unconscious pilot sinks to the bottom of the lake. From then on he has to survive with only his hatchet, that was a present from his mom. Will the rescue team come in time to save him? Or will he die alone in the woods :( ...