Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 4 - 10R5.742328
This award-winning contemporary classic is the survival story with which all others are comparedā€”and a page-turning, heart-stopping adventure, recipient of the Newbery Honor.

LOST

Brian Robertson, sole passenger on a Cessna 406, is on his way to visit his father when the tiny bush plane crashes in the Canadian wilderness. With nothing but his clothing, a tattered windbreaker, and the hatchet his mother had given him as a present, Brian finds himself completely alone.

Challenged by his fear and despair -- and plagued with the weight of a dreadful secret he's been keeping since his parent's divorce -- brian must tame his inner demons in order to survive. It will take all his know-how and determination, and more courage than he knew he possessed.
Paperback, 224 pages
Published on October 3, 2017 by Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers
ISBN-10: 1481486292
ISBN-13: 9781481486293
295 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
Sign in to use your custom avatar.
  • amelialover24
    amelialover24Thursday, September 13, 2018 at 10:23 am11 star
    This book not to be mean but I do not like it. it was very boring unless you want to bored out dont read this books but i like @tcwgaming that I gues that u have difrent feelings but sainara
    • tcwgaming
      tcwgamingFriday, September 14, 2018 at 11:52 am33 stars
      I think it would have been more interesting if he had a companion like another person or even a dog. It was a little boring because he didnt say anything the book just expressed his thoughts.
    • tcwgaming
      tcwgamingMonday, September 10, 2018 at 12:02 pm33 stars
      What an amazing book! Makes me wanna pack up my hatchet and fly with an inexperienced pilot over the Canadian woods!! This is a great adventure story about a boy that is flying from his moms house to his dads house in Canada. but along the way his pilot has a heart attack! They plummet down into a lake in the Canadian wilderness. Brian manages to escape before the plane with the unconscious pilot sinks to the bottom of the lake. From then on he has to survive with only his hatchet, that was a present from his mom. Will the rescue team come in time to save him? Or will he die alone in the woods :( ...
      • hailey1032
        hailey1032Wednesday, August 15, 2018 at 5:20 pm55 stars
        Great book! It makes me imagine what would happen if I was lost in the wilderness.
        • trwSaturday, May 26, 2018 at 6:16 am
          cool
          • awesome_actress
            awesome_actressThursday, May 24, 2018 at 11:03 am44 stars
            Awesome book! If you like survival skills and the wild I'm sure you will like this book!
            • ADDIEThursday, May 24, 2018 at 8:23 am
              umm this book was okay it took a while to read for me and i like books that go fast but i like it kind of me and my friend would probaly agree on this rating and comment
              • hawiian_girl
                hawiian_girlTuesday, May 1, 2018 at 4:33 pm55 stars
                I read this book in 5th grade, it as really good!!
                • Ranger51Tuesday, March 6, 2018 at 7:04 am
                  I got this book for Christmas about 3 years ago and am absolutely all into survival. I mean, I got two survival guides, a survival kit, a backpack to carry my survival gear around in, (also knives, fire-starters, etc.). Seriously, I was so excited to read a survival BOOK! However, I started reading this and totally wasn't hooked. I always try to finish this book, telling myself it'll get better and suddenly I'll be downing it up. Nope. I was halfway through and nothing had really happened. It was more, "He did this, then he was hungry. He did that." and I felt it was more factual and all... I mean, Brian had feelings about his parent's divorce and the secret, but I wished it was more hooking. Maybe that's just what survival books are like, but I'm planning on getting another Gary Paulsen book to see if I just didn't like Hatchet in particular. Maybe I just don't like survival books as much as I like the idea of survival.... I'm not totally sure. But eh... it wasn't great. I still haven't finished it though, so really, I can't say.
                  • tcwgaming
                    tcwgamingMonday, September 10, 2018 at 12:05 pm33 stars
                    I still thought it was a great book even though i do agree that it got a little boring when "Brian was hungry, Brian was cold, Brian needed water... But overall a great book!
                    • tcwgaming
                      tcwgamingFriday, September 14, 2018 at 11:56 am33 stars
                      @ranger51 I think it would have been a better book if Brian had a companion like a dog.
                  • stardarling30
                    stardarling30Thursday, January 25, 2018 at 8:08 am55 stars
                    I Asolutely love this bookšŸ˜
                    • aarondalmighty
                      aarondalmightyFriday, January 12, 2018 at 12:14 pm44 stars
                      Epic so far.