Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 1 - 3n/a2.54042

A NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER

Zita's life took a cosmic left turn in the blink of an eye.

When her best friend is abducted by an alien doomsday cult, Zita leaps to the rescue and finds herself a stranger on a strange planet. Humanoid chickens and neurotic robots are shocking enough as new experiences go, but Zita is even more surprised to find herself taking on the role of intergalactic hero. Before long, aliens in all shapes and sizes don't even phase her. Neither do ancient prophecies, doomed planets, or even a friendly con man who takes a mysterious interest in Zita's quest.

Zita the Spacegirl is a fun, captivating tale of friendship and redemption from Flight veteran Ben Hatke. It also has more whimsical, eye-catching, Miyazaki-esque monsters than you can shake a stick at.

Hardcover, 192 pages
Published on February 1, 2011 by First Second
ISBN-10: 1596436956
ISBN-13: 9781596436954
10 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
Sign in to use your custom avatar.
  • reader_red
    reader_redTuesday, May 29, 2018 at 8:53 am55 stars
    When Zita's friend is pulled through a strange portal, Zita has no choice but to go to space and save him. She makes friends with a large creature(Strong-Strong), a cunning man(Piper), a robot (one), and a golden robot. So I really liked this book, even though it was a graphic novel. It had a cool plot line and Zita was really cool. Definitely a book for all ages.
    • cutecat6
      cutecat6Tuesday, November 14, 2017 at 4:26 pm55 stars
      "Zita the Spacegirl" is fun to read! Ben Hatke, you make the best Graphic Novels ever(You too Raina Telegmeier, Cece Bell, Gale Galligan, Jeff Kinney, and Dav Pilkey)! This is the first Novel of "Zita the Spacegirl". In the book the mouse(rat๐Ÿญick!) looks SSSSSOOOOOO cute!๐Ÿ˜† Zita goes into Space and into a another planet we don't even know(probably a Gas Giant planet).
      • jasmin99
        jasmin99Thursday, October 6, 2016 at 12:22 pm55 stars
        This book is about a girl who travels through space to find her friend. It is such a good book you should read the series :P
        • kiki22
          kiki22Thursday, April 16, 2015 at 1:51 pm44 stars
          Zita the space girl is such a good book, it is funny, action packed and adventurous. i have read it 3 times because it is so good. When I started reading it I couldn't put it down.๐Ÿ˜ƒ
          • bunnykitty8
            bunnykitty8Monday, December 15, 2014 at 2:42 pm
            this book should be played on Broadway!!!!!
            • eveningstar
              eveningstarSunday, November 30, 2014 at 4:43 pm
              This book is AWESOME!!!!!!!
              • maddyp18
                maddyp18Saturday, June 21, 2014 at 7:12 am44 stars
                I liked this book so so so much!!!!!!!! It is about a girl named Zita who gets transferred to space and then tries to get back home to earth. I think the message is ''Always keep trying'', because in the book Zita never gives up!!!!!
                • narutoplaysmc
                  narutoplaysmcMonday, October 13, 2014 at 7:48 pm
                  This explanation is write, awesome graphic novel, who agrees???
                • cutiekittenlove
                  cutiekittenloveThursday, May 30, 2013 at 5:34 pm44 stars
                  Pretty easily read
                  • cutiekittenlove
                    cutiekittenloveThursday, May 30, 2013 at 5:34 pm44 stars
                    Great book for littler kids