"Wonder" is the funny, sweet and incredibly moving story of Auggie Pullman. Born with a terrible facial abnormality, this shy, bright ten-year-old has been home-schooled by his parents for his whole life, in an attempt to protect him from the stares and cruelty of the outside world. Now, for the first time, Auggie is being sent to a real school - and he's dreading it. The thing is, Auggie's just an ordinary kid, with an extraordinary face. But can he convince his new classmates that he's just like them, underneath it all? Through the voices of Auggie, his big sister Via, and his new friends Jack and Summer, "Wonder" follows Auggie's journey through his first year at Beecher Prep. Frank, powerful, warm and often heart-breaking, "Wonder" is a book you'll read in one sitting, pass on to others, and remember long after the final page.
Paperback
Published on August 5, 2013 by Galaxy
ISBN-10: 1471350509
ISBN-13: 9781471350504
2626 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
to use your custom avatar.
  • lourdesj
    lourdesjSunday, December 10, 2017 at 10:54 am55 stars
    I'm so close to being done with the book but I don't want it to end there needs to be a sequel to the book so I can keep on reading
    • uma1234
      uma1234Friday, December 8, 2017 at 2:58 pm55 starsFeatured
      "Wonder" is the funny, sweet and incredibly moving story of Auggie Pullman. Born with a terrible facial abnormality, this shy, bright ten-year-old has been home-schooled by his parents for his whole life, in an attempt to protect him from the stares and cruelty of the outside world. Now, for the first time, Auggie is being sent to a real school - and he's dreading it. The thing is, Auggie's just an ordinary kid, with an extraordinary face. But can he convince his new classmates that he's just like them, underneath it all? Through the voices of Auggie, his big sister Via, and his new friends Jack and Summer, "Wonder" follows Auggie's journey through his first year at Beecher Prep. Frank, powerful, warm and often heart-breaking, "Wonder" is a book you'll read in one sitting, pass on to others, and remember long after the final page.
      • Kera ReyneFriday, December 8, 2017 at 7:36 am
        i have watched the the movie it is awesome i think it is not only awesome i think it is magnificent.
        • catface7312
          catface7312Thursday, December 7, 2017 at 5:36 pm55 stars
          I am reading this book in school as a class-read-along and I saw the movie. I just have to say, this book is definitely my favorite book. It's about this kid named August Pullman (Auggie) and he has somewhat of a deformed face. He has been homeschooled his whole life and he gets the opportunity to go to a real school. He's hesitant at first, but he decides to go. The popular kid Juliann, is extremely rude to him. He has trouble making friends. Everybody is afraid to touch him. People even created the "plague" which is when Auggie touches them, they have 30 seconds to wash their hands or use hand sanitizer. Cruel, right? Anyways, Auggie meets Jack Will, and they soon become friends. On Halloween, Jack Will talked behind Auggie's back, which betrayed his trust. A girl named Summer, wanted to sit with him after her friends were talking about him. She became friends with Auggie, and unlike Jack, she's trustworthy. She proved her trust because when she got invited to Savannah's party (the popular girl), Savannah said that Juliann liked her and if she would only leave Auggie, she could be part of their group. Summer declined. Jack and Auggie became friends again, fortunately. I hope that didn't spoil it, but this book is absolutely brilliant on all levels. This book also teaches us an important lesson. "Do not be fooled by its commonplace appearance. Like so many things, it is not what outside, but the inside that counts," by Aladdin.
          • billy12345
            billy12345Thursday, December 7, 2017 at 5:09 pm55 stars
            I love Wonder the book and it is my favorite book in the world but the book is way better than the movie. There are some really sad parts and really happy parts but it can be a little scar for kids under 6.
            • penz
              penzThursday, December 7, 2017 at 2:40 pm44 stars
              this book is alright it is so sad when daisy dies I almost cried. almost
              • 8787878Thursday, December 7, 2017 at 8:21 am
                i loved reding this book and how he has corage
                • ddddThursday, December 7, 2017 at 6:18 am
                  i love this book
                  • lionstigers07
                    lionstigers07Thursday, December 7, 2017 at 4:58 am44 stars
                    geez, this book is amazing. I would stay up all night to read it, had I not been such a long sleeper. Great book! I’m a huge fan! Take this recommendation! It is worth it!
                    • 55555555Wednesday, December 6, 2017 at 5:34 pm
                      this is an awesome book!! Best book ever after... The Seventh Wish. Auggie and me is a pretty good book to. and 365 days of wonder all by R. J. Palacio.