"Wonder" is the funny, sweet and incredibly moving story of Auggie Pullman. Born with a terrible facial abnormality, this shy, bright ten-year-old has been home-schooled by his parents for his whole life, in an attempt to protect him from the stares and cruelty of the outside world. Now, for the first time, Auggie is being sent to a real school - and he's dreading it. The thing is, Auggie's just an ordinary kid, with an extraordinary face. But can he convince his new classmates that he's just like them, underneath it all? Through the voices of Auggie, his big sister Via, and his new friends Jack and Summer, "Wonder" follows Auggie's journey through his first year at Beecher Prep. Frank, powerful, warm and often heart-breaking, "Wonder" is a book you'll read in one sitting, pass on to others, and remember long after the final page.
Paperback
Published on August 5, 2013 by Galaxy
ISBN-10: 1471350509
ISBN-13: 9781471350504
2283 Book Reviews
to use your custom avatar.
  • mansWednesday, August 23, 2017 at 10:20 am
    I love how this book is told. I really enjoyed reading this book even though it was a bit on the sad side.
    • bellaTuesday, August 22, 2017 at 7:52 pm
      its amazing it give u i lessons
      • bellaTuesday, August 22, 2017 at 7:51 pm
        it asome tell poms its grati
        • snail22Tuesday, August 22, 2017 at 7:29 am
          This book is about a kid named Augie and all of the problems he faces because he is slightly deformedIt makes me sad about how he is bullied because of what he looks like:'(
          • snail22Tuesday, August 22, 2017 at 7:26 am
            THis is like this best book i have ever read i was so into it it only took me like 2 day to read, i mean i even brought it to school!
            • bookbear
              bookbearSaturday, August 12, 2017 at 1:55 pm
              I loved this book. Auggie has a lot of challenges in his life because of the way he looks. I don't think that is right.
              • boysrule
                boysruleFriday, August 18, 2017 at 4:50 pm55 stars
                i think it is right for him to go to school. i mean, he still has to learn
              • boysrule
                boysruleFriday, August 11, 2017 at 3:27 pm55 stars
                wonder is a book about a kid named august has facial deformities. His mom and dad wanted him to go to middle school at Beecher Prep, so he went to the middle school before it started and he got a tour around the whole school from three kids named Jack, Julian, and Charlotte. And when he started going to school, everyone stared at him. Jack was next to him in all his classes, so Jack became his best friend. And a few weeks later, everyone got used to his face. But then when he went to nature retreat, some seventh graders showed up and started bullying him. But then Amos, Miles, and Henry came to save him. He was like 'Leave them alone, dude.' And Amos just punched them, and then they ran to the cornfield. When the fifth grade graduation came, after all the awards, there was one last award, the Henry Ward Beecher award. And guess what? August got it! It is a great book and there is also a special edition, the Julian Chapter. Don't forge to check that one out!
                • georgiasilver
                  georgiasilverWednesday, August 9, 2017 at 5:07 pm55 stars
                  An eye opening, and extremely well written and good book, Wonder is a perfect book to read to encourage acknowledgement, understanding, and kindness to those who read it. A highly recommended book.
                  • jeffdaboss
                    jeffdabossWednesday, August 9, 2017 at 5:03 pm55 stars
                    Literally one of the best kids books ever. Auggie has facial deformities, meaning his face is different from other kids. He's starting 5th grade, and his parents have decided for him to go to a private school instead of being homeschooled. He is introduced to Beecher Prep, a couple of days before school starts, to get acquainted with his new surroundings. During his time at Beecher Prep, he gets enemies and he makes friends. He gets bullied because of his looks, by both students and their parents. As the school year gets tougher, he gets stronger. Through the difficulties of 5th grade, Auggie somehow makes it to the end of the school year as a star. This book is a great book, and it shifts the point of view to various characters, so you get a large glimpse at the whole story.
                    • forenna
                      forennaWednesday, August 9, 2017 at 12:43 pm55 starsFeatured
                      Wonder- This is a beautiful story about a boy named August, or Auggie, Pullman. He was born with a cleft palate, and after many surgeries, looks deformed. Up until 5th grade, he was home schooled because of the amount of surgeries he had to take, week by week. As the year goes by, lots of things happen, from making new friends, and enemies, to mean names like Freak, Freddy Krueger, Gross-out and Lizard face. Through his journey, he faces many obstacles that change him emotionally, and physically. This book has deep meaning and is one of my FAVORITE books in the world. It could be read to, or you can read it yourself. If you like this book, I also recommend the trilogy that goes with this. Now, stop reading reviews about this book, and go read it already!