Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 2 - 5N4.97518
Walt Disney always loved to entertain people. Often it got him into trouble. Once he painted pictures with tar on the side of his family's white house. His family was poor, and the happiest time of his childhood was spent living on a farm in Missouri. His affection for small-town life is reflected in Disneyland Main Streets around the world. With black-and-white illustrations throughout, this biography reveals the man behind the magic.

This book is not authorized, licensed or endorsed by the Walt Disney Company or any affiliate.

Paperback, 112 pages
Published on April 16, 2009 by Grosset & Dunlap
ISBN-10: 0448450526
ISBN-13: 9780448450520
15 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
Sign in to use your custom avatar.
  • colto404
    colto404Thursday, March 8, 2018 at 8:40 pm44 stars
    I really like this book! It tells about Walt Disney’s life and how he grew up.1.He starts making black and white,no sound animations.2.He gets more people to work for him.3.He loses all his workers,his movie camera, and all his money. The rest of it you have to read. And as you know he becomes famous and makes Disneyland. Fun fact: He first made Oswald the rabbit and then later changed it to the popular Mickey Mouse but this Mickey was “mean and tricky” as described in the book. I would recommend this book for 2-6th graders. This was a really good book!
    • doge919
      doge919Friday, January 12, 2018 at 12:48 pm44 stars
      i think its a really good book
      • tori3ghoul
        tori3ghoulWednesday, November 29, 2017 at 11:58 am44 stars
        Walt Disney's characters were my whole childhood. He is amazing! My favorite parts of this book were Walt's fame and creations. There's even a backstory of who Mickey Mouse used to be; mean and tricky. I also liked Walt's surprise for his wife on Christmas morning. Great for Disney fans!
        • oreo1306
          oreo1306Saturday, February 20, 2016 at 3:11 pm44 stars
          I liked this book a lot, and I own it, but unless you're 8 and up, you shouldn't read this book!
          • tim_w21
            tim_w21Saturday, December 5, 2015 at 5:24 am
            I think this book is very good. This book let me learn a lot of thing. When Walt Disney was little everyone is think he is strange, but when he become adult he create his own cartoon and at that time it is very famous. At last he create the Disney land. This book is By Whitney Stewart.
            • tim_w21
              tim_w21Thursday, December 3, 2015 at 3:18 am
              I think this book is very good. This book let me learn a lot of thing. When Walt Disney was little everyone is think he is strange, but when he become adult he create his own cartoon and at that time it is very famous. At last he create the Disney land.
              • fancy1
                fancy1Wednesday, January 14, 2015 at 7:17 pm
                I think this book is really informative. I love Walt Disney movies. I want to know how Walt Disney makes his books.
                • caitlin_ortiz
                  caitlin_ortizWednesday, January 14, 2015 at 6:18 pm55 stars
                  it is short and easy to read!
                  • 241838soccer
                    241838soccerMonday, November 24, 2014 at 6:32 am55 stars
                    So far I love Walt Disney childhood.he lived on a farm.
                    • richardforever
                      richardforeverThursday, September 26, 2013 at 1:30 pm55 stars
                      always wanted to go to walt disney