Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 3 - 7Grades 2 - 5N4.67086
In her amazing diary, Anne Frank revealed the challenges and dreams common for any young girl. But Hitler brought her childhood to an end and forced her and her family into hiding. Who Was Anne Frank? looks closely at Anneas life before the secret annex, what life was like in hiding, and the legacy of her diary. Black-and-white illustrations including maps and diagrams provide historical and visual reference in an easy-to-read biography written in a way that is appropriate and accessible for younger readers.
Paperback, 112 pages
Published on January 18, 2007 by Grosset & Dunlap
ISBN-10: 0448444828
ISBN-13: 9780448444826
18 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
Sign in to use your custom avatar.
  • penz
    penzFriday, January 12, 2018 at 4:35 pm44 stars
    This is the very first who was book I have read.
    • unicornheart
      unicornheartThursday, June 22, 2017 at 7:16 am
      Who Was Ann Frank? by Ann Abramson shares the sad story of a girl living in Germany during World War II. The author’s purpose in writing this book is teaching children that people should not be treated like Anne Frank. Anne Frank was alive when many countries fought against each other. Anne Frank also wrote a diary. Anne Frank had a sad and interesting life. She was sent to a concentration camp because she was Jewish.
      • imlefthanded
        imlefthandedMonday, May 22, 2017 at 5:11 pm55 stars
        This book... MADNESS! By the way this is a spoilers alert. Anne Frank was born in June of 1929. She was born in Frankfurt, Germany. She had a older sister Margot. Edith Frank was Anne's mother. She was lump and shy. Otto Frank was Anne's dad. He was tall, skinny, was a buissness man, and loved crowds. By the time Anne was three Adolf Hitler was ruling Germany and wanted Germany to rule all of Europe. But, when Otto and Edith's family's have all been living here for a long time they felt like they were not safe. The Nazi's where ruling Germany and they blamed Jews for everything they did. The Frank family was part Jew. Jew fact: If your part Jew you probaly celebrate Hanukkah for Christmas. They moved to Switzerland to there Grandma. Then they eventually moved to Amsterdam, Holland.
        • mrsreilly4208
          Elissa ReillySunday, January 15, 2017 at 3:54 pm
          These are great books to use for Biography research!
          • nonstopreader
            nonstopreaderMonday, May 9, 2016 at 12:13 pm
            I like these books. It gives you some information in a easy to understand way. Anne Frank was an amazing person. I can't imagine going through what she did!
            • Lizzy The GoofyFriday, January 22, 2016 at 2:46 pm
              Loved it helped me do much when my field trip was cancelled to the Anne Frank Exhibit due to terrorist threat.
              • sky84Monday, October 20, 2014 at 9:37 am
                I read this book but i was so sad for these Jews they did not deserve all that hatred and pain.
                • cat27282
                  cat27282Monday, May 20, 2013 at 12:45 pm55 stars
                  loved it very sad
                  • dxfan11
                    dxfan11Friday, March 29, 2013 at 9:39 am
                    I wornder how this book is
                    • hey
                      heyFriday, March 29, 2013 at 6:57 am44 stars
                      This story sounds really sad but I'm guessing Anne Frank is really important. Maybe in class I'll learn more about her....