Raina Telgemeier's #1 New York Times bestselling, Eisner Award-winning graphic memoir based on her childhood!

Raina just wants to be a normal sixth grader. But one night after Girl Scouts she trips and falls, severely injuring her two front teeth. What follows is a long and frustrating journey with on-again, off-again braces, surgery, embarrassing headgear, and even a retainer with fake teeth attached. And on top of all that, there's still more to deal with: a major earthquake, boy confusion, and friends who turn out to be not so friendly.
Hardcover, 224 pages
Published on February 1, 2010 by GRAPHIX
ISBN-10: 0545132053
ISBN-13: 9780545132053
2637 Book Reviews
to use your custom avatar.
  • cheer bearWednesday, August 23, 2017 at 3:33 pm
    I LOVE THIS BOOK!!!!!!!!! this book id the pest book in the world i just started reading it and now i am on page 120.
    • snail22Tuesday, August 22, 2017 at 7:21 am
      I LOVE LOVE LOVE this book! It's about a girl named Raina and she falls and messes her teeth up! Then all the drama and pain (and friends who aren't so friendly) does not help at all. I say something else but it is not going to get as good as hamiltonfan's (I really like your name by the way I love hamilton 2) so see you later!
      • grapefruitTuesday, August 22, 2017 at 3:17 am
        this was an awesome book about the ups and downs in an almost-teen's life,ranging from tooth trouble to popularity, a wonderful choice for anyone in the midst of growing up!
        • dolphinspiritSaturday, August 19, 2017 at 4:39 pm
          It was an amazing book😃
          • hamiltonfan
            hamiltonfanFriday, August 18, 2017 at 5:24 pm44 stars
            Smile is a touching story about a girl named Raina Telgemier's (The author's) Journey through middle school and high school. But it's not just any journey! Along the way, Raina falls and loses some of her teeth. For the rest of her school years, she struggles through braces, headgear, and retainers. Of course, being in school there are lots of friendship changes, crush drama and academic issues. Follow Raina on her journey to a beautiful smile in Smile by Raina Telgemeier.
            • kiwicuts24Thursday, August 17, 2017 at 7:22 pm
              Amazing book, amazing author, amazing illustrations, i mean really. It's a book you'll get attached to.
              • JeffThursday, August 17, 2017 at 5:20 pm
                It is so good 😋😋😋😋😋🍫😍😂👍
                • mikeyonaThursday, August 17, 2017 at 11:12 am
                  you cant say everythings bad
                  • Savage Wednesday, August 16, 2017 at 3:58 pm
                    I have braces too I feel the pain
                    • forenna
                      forennaFriday, August 11, 2017 at 8:59 am55 stars
                      This is a great book if you have braces or a sibling. I really recommend this book. Like, a lot! I hope you enjoy this book.