Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 4 - 8V6.7106821

For twelve long years, the dread fortress of Azkaban held an infamous prisoner named Sirius Black. Convicted of killing thirteen people with a single curse, he was said to be the heir apparent to the Dark Lord, Voldemort.

Now he has escaped, leaving only two clues as to where he might be headed: Harry Potter's defeat of You-Know-Who was Black's downfall as well. And the Azkaban guards heard Black muttering in his sleep, "He's at Hogwarts . . . he's at Hogwarts."

Harry Potter isn't safe, not even within the walls of his magical school, surrounded by his friends. Because on top of it all, there may well be a traitor in their midst.

Hardcover, 435 pages
Published on October 1, 1999 by Scholastic
ISBN-10: 0439136350
ISBN-13: 9780439136358
355 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
Sign in to use your custom avatar.
  • docmcstuffins
    docmcstuffinsWednesday, March 7, 2018 at 10:35 am55 stars
    my favorite in the series
    • PotterHead!!!Wednesday, March 7, 2018 at 9:33 am
      I think this book is my favorite book in the series! I mean who would've expected the Prisoner Of Azkaban to become so special in the future books! It makes me hate his cousin! Harry was glad to know the truth about it all! I would recommend this book to anyone who loves to read and can read chapter books! J.K. Rowling did a AWESOME job!!
      • lbragg
        lbraggFriday, March 2, 2018 at 8:15 am55 stars
        Really good.
        • 738130
          738130Friday, March 2, 2018 at 7:33 am55 stars
          I think this book is really good because it has a whole made up world to go with it. I read all the other books in the series and this one 5 times each!
          • NarwhalWednesday, February 14, 2018 at 2:24 pm
            So good so far!
            • stinkycheese39
              stinkycheese39Wednesday, February 14, 2018 at 7:28 am44 stars
              I liked this book because it was really cool and it was an awsome book
              • breyannj
                breyannjMonday, February 12, 2018 at 10:47 am55 stars
                i havent read it yet but i know the movie by heart because i used to watch it over and over again
                • nissa
                  nissaSaturday, February 10, 2018 at 5:54 am44 stars
                  This book is a kind of mystery and legend. It is full of fantasy and magic inside. My favourite part is when Harry sits on the knight bus and shoes his intelligence . I recommend this book because it is the mos magical and fantastic part of all the series.
                  • aaryan
                    aaryanThursday, February 8, 2018 at 1:26 pm
                    Describe your character. The main character of this book is Harry Potter. He is 13 and he is a wizard. He goes to a school for wizards and he loves it more than his home because he is mistreated. This was all about Harry Potter and what he does in his life. What is this character like from the beginning? In the beginning Harry Potter is mad at his aunt and uncle because they are not wizards and they do not like magic but Harry Potter is a wizard. He also doesn’t like his cousin because he bullies him and makes fun of him. What is this character like towards the end? Harry Potter is no longer mad. That is because he had won the house cup for their house. He was very happy. But he was still kind of sad because he hoped to leave and go and live with his godfather. He was funny when he had to leave. He told his uncle about his godfather and he made a joke about him. What do others say about this character? Well his two best friends say he is nice and others say that too but Malfoy hates Harry Potter and Harry hates him because Harry did not want to be in his crew so now they hate each other. Malfoy makes fun of him and other things. Describe this character and how is this character important. One of the supporting character is Ron Weasley. Ron is a red hair boy like his whole family and he helps Harry when he is down and doesn't know stuff about the wizarding world. Ron is Harry’s best friend and nothing will change that. Describe this character and how is this character important. Another supporting character is Hermione. Harry and Ron saved her life and now they are best friends. Hermione loves the wizarding world. She loves books. Sometimes she can be a know it all. Her parents are muggles which are not wizards and she was going to be one too, but she turned out to be a wizard. She also hates Malfoy like Harry and Ron. She helps Harry and Ron throughout the books and when Harry has no time she lets Ron and Harry copy her work .
                    • bandanabanana_a
                      bandanabanana_aTuesday, January 30, 2018 at 2:29 pm
                      I've waiting to read this.