Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 4 - 7n/a5.429745

Meet Nikki Maxwell! She’s starting eighth grade at a new school—and her very first diary packed with hilarious stories and art in this SUPER SQUEE updated edition of Book One of the #1 New York Times bestselling Dork Diaries series!

Nikki confesses all in her first diary ever: her epic battle with her mom for an iPhone, meeting her new soon-to-be BFFs Chloe and Zoey, falling for adorably sweet crush Brandon, dealing with her zany little sister Brianna’s antics—and the immediate clashes with mean girl Mackenzie, who becomes Nikki’s rival in a schoolwide art competition.

Nearly 30 million books in print worldwide!

Hardcover, 304 pages
Published on June 2, 2009 by Aladdin
ISBN-10: 1416980067
ISBN-13: 9781416980063
1099 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
Sign in to use your custom avatar.
  • claire922
    claire922Wednesday, June 20, 2018 at 9:10 pm
    This book is the first book of the Dork Diaries Series. This is only the start of the drama for Nikki Maxwell, a middle schooler who considers herself a dork.
    • unicorn992
      unicorn992Tuesday, June 19, 2018 at 6:07 pm55 stars
      this is a really good book. if you are in middle school i recommend you read this. it is so retell able! it starres Nickky and her nonstop pain Mackenzie
      • claire922
        claire922Monday, June 18, 2018 at 3:38 pm
        This book is great!👍
        • e06
          e06Sunday, June 17, 2018 at 5:52 pm44 stars
          so funny! definitly recommend if you are in middle school. Easy read! a relaxing joyful story with the adventures of Nikki, Chloe, Zoe, and Brandon!
          • applemango
            applemangoFriday, June 15, 2018 at 5:24 pm44 stars
            I'm not a really big fan of Dork diaries but this book was actually a pretty fun book...but, well I think you should read this book because it is pretty fun!!
            • eybook2018
              eybook2018Friday, June 15, 2018 at 4:04 pm
              Dork Diaries 1: Tales from a Not-So-Fabulous Life is a funny book that I sometimes think is a girl book which is true but is really really funny.
              • readytoread
                readytoreadFriday, June 15, 2018 at 3:48 pm55 stars
                I love this book! It's so funny and everyone in my class started reading it the summer before 2nd grade. I especially love the comic strips!
                • billy12345
                  billy12345Friday, June 15, 2018 at 2:39 pm11 star
                  I'm a boy, so I didn't really like this book. It's about a girl named Nikki who is a dork. Instead of a phone, her mom gave her a diary. My sister has almost all the books, so it's a series.
                  • tybook2018
                    tybook2018Thursday, June 14, 2018 at 5:25 pm
                    Dork Diaries 1: Tales from a Not-So-Fabulous Life is a book that is really popular for girls but when I read it, it was ok I guess. But the best part is that it's really funny.
                    • e06
                      e06Thursday, June 14, 2018 at 2:33 pm44 stars
                      This book is soon funny! Especially for a middle schooler! She has so many mini adventures with her friends, sister, and Brandon! Read ittt!