The Newbery Honor Award Winner and New York Times bestseller Roller Girl is a heartwarming graphic novel about friendship and surviving junior high through the power of roller derby—perfect for fans of Raina Telgemeier's Smile!

For most of her twelve years, Astrid has done everything with her best friend Nicole. But after Astrid falls in love with roller derby and signs up for derby camp, Nicole decides to go to dance camp instead. And so begins the most difficult summer of Astrid's life as she struggles to keep up with the older girls at camp, hang on to the friend she feels slipping away, and cautiously embark on a new friendship. As the end of summer nears and her first roller derby bout (and junior high!) draws closer, Astrid realizes that maybe she is strong enough to handle the bout, a lost friendship, and middle school… in short, strong enough to be a roller girl.

In this graphic novel debut that earned a Newbery Honor and five starred reviews, real-life derby girl Victoria Jamieson has created an inspiring coming-of-age story about friendship, perseverence, and girl power!


From the Trade Paperback edition.
Hardcover, 240 pages
Published on March 10, 2015 by Dial Books
ISBN-10: 0525429670
ISBN-13: 9780525429678
49 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
to use your custom avatar.
  • awesomecat12
    awesomecat12Sunday, October 29, 2017 at 3:38 pm55 stars
    This book is the best book i have read
    • awesomecat12
      awesomecat12Sunday, October 29, 2017 at 2:17 pm55 stars
      This book is really really good
      • applepiezgirl
        applepiezgirlMonday, October 2, 2017 at 4:08 pm55 stars
        This book is about a girl named Astrid, but she is not your typical girl. She dose not want to go to the mall to go shopping or go out and see a movie with friend's. Her dream is to be a roller skater. So her mom sign's her up for a camp at the local rink. Astrid realizes that maybe she should not be doing this because; well her best friend is at dance camp without her and she is losing her friendship with her. But by the end of summer, she realizes that it was the best decision she could make, because her and her friend didn't have the best friendship, and she met her real friends, but also she was able to do what she loved. And I would totally recommend it to everybody who loves adventure, action, and drama!!!
        • awes0megaming9
          awes0megaming9Monday, October 2, 2017 at 7:13 am44 stars
          This book was amazing i loved it i recommend this to anyone who loves adventure and drama
          • arainnajv45
            arainnajv45Friday, September 29, 2017 at 3:51 pm
            I recommend this to anyone that likes a good mixture and a good taste in books
            • gummybear10
              gummybear10Tuesday, September 12, 2017 at 6:15 pm44 stars
              I completely recommend this book to any age, I like it because it describes how life really is. it shows the natural conflict between friends, and the ability to remake and make them......
              • shannento9
                shannento9Thursday, August 24, 2017 at 7:42 pm
                this book is all about dont give up and friend ship
                • gostbearSaturday, August 12, 2017 at 9:44 am
                  I loved it I could read it all day
                  • mamabird
                    mamabirdWednesday, June 7, 2017 at 4:48 pm44 stars
                    It was a pretty well-to-do story. I have a 6th grader who read it in about 15minutes,my 4th grader and my 2nd grader also loved it! It's a graphic novel with a unique story line and only a couple curse words (the main character's name is Astrid, the mean girl calls her 'ASS-turd')
                    • bookreviewstory
                      bookreviewstoryThursday, June 1, 2017 at 6:20 am
                      Amazing work of art.