Ruby Redfort is a genius code-cracker, a daring detective, and a gadget-laden special agent who just happens to be a 13-year-old girl. She and her slick side-kick butler, Hitch, foil crimes and get into loads of scrapes with evil villains, but they're always ice-cool in a crisis.
Paperback, 432 pages
Published on August 22, 2017 by HarperCollins
ISBN-10: 0007967276
ISBN-13: 9780007967278
34 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
to use your custom avatar.
  • lemonpie5105
    lemonpie5105Monday, November 13, 2017 at 4:27 am44 stars
    I was never a big reader . But this was the book that induced me to the wonderful world of books. i would definitely give this book a go. It may seem a bit boring for some at the start but it is very promising mystery/crime novel.
    • callie_b
      callie_bTuesday, January 24, 2017 at 4:09 pm55 stars
      This is a great first book from British author Lauren Child. I really got sucked into the book and I bet you will too! Ruby transitions from an average middle schooler to a secret agency code cracking job! It's supposed to be a desk job ONLY because the agency had just lost their previous code cracker and they don't want it to happen again. But will Ruby and her friend Clancy take a chance and dive into the action to do what's right?
      • purpleberry
        purpleberryWednesday, August 24, 2016 at 9:51 pm55 stars
        Its a really good book, filled with exciting and thrilling parts. Lauren Child really knows how to write and that's why I really recommend this book.
        • lemonade11
          lemonade11Thursday, March 3, 2016 at 1:22 pm
          This book was extremely exciting and had lots of cliffhangers and suspense. I agree with snicker9, that it is for 10 and up. In this book, Ruby is an amazing code cracker! She needs to figure out how to help who she is secretly working with. Her "butler" is quite the character too. I totally recommend this book, and be ready for suspense!
          • penguin313
            penguin313Sunday, October 4, 2015 at 10:27 am55 stars
            I won this book as a summer prize, and it was pretty good. It tells about Ruby Redfort, master code breaker, hired by a spy agency, from a rich but dim family, age thirteen. I recommend this book.
            • pup101
              pup101Tuesday, September 8, 2015 at 3:11 pm55 stars
              Ruby Redfort is a great book, especially if you are someone who likes mystery and or adventure. It is about a girl who is really good at cracking codes. She starts getting these mysterious phone calls and every time she picks up the person on the other side says.................What? You think that I'm a spoiler? You'll just have to read this book to find out the rest.
              • inventor60
                inventor60Sunday, August 23, 2015 at 8:31 am55 stars
                It is time to go back to her beginnings, the time when ruby first entered the world of of being a detective. Showcasing the challenges that faced.... meet the
                • bibliophile
                  bibliophileSaturday, June 27, 2015 at 8:00 pm44 stars
                  When I was younger... I used to pretend I was Nancy Drew always looking for mysteries that I can solve... the only mystery I came across was "who ate the last slice of the delicious cheesecake?" or "where's my toy?" and those type of mysteries... of course I did solve them except for finding my missing toys... (and to this day I still don't know where they are XD) Anyways... I outgrew my Nancy Drew series... and I came across these series... the Ruby Redfort series... Meet Ruby Redfort, a genius, a code decipherer, a detective... what else can you ask for a thirteen years old... actually a lot more... Ruby receives a call where it's all in riddles, where she tries to make sense of it... and BAM... the story goes everywhere... there is a plot... but it doesn't go in order... I know I probably sound like I am rambling... but I'm not... (I took a shot to get a stronger immune system for the rambling diseases *sorry it's an inside joke... and I had to say it XD*) ok but if you actually read it you'll understand... Even though it is all over the place.. you can actually see how it's coming sense to you that you want to keep on read and read it...A few things happened to Ruby... she gets asked to join an agency and she's one step closer to Fool's Gold Gang plan... Can she solve the case??? Well it's up to you to read and find out! Enjoy! :)
                  • kitkat1998
                    kitkat1998Sunday, June 21, 2015 at 11:37 am44 stars
                    This book is an engaging read about a code-breaking, secret agent 13-year-old. Its very fun and has the right amount of mysterious happening to keep the reader happy until the final word. I highly recommend this book.
                    • goldfishes
                      goldfishesTuesday, June 9, 2015 at 3:28 pm44 stars
                      Ruby Redfort is a teenage detective that just can't be stopped. If you have read any other books by this author, you may have heard of this series. Pretty much, this girl is sent on a mysterious quest when her furniture and housekeeper disappear. And on top of that, a strange butler appears at their door, and seems to be acting a bit - shady. These mysteries send the girl on an adventure that takes her closer to home than she expected.