Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 3 - 7Grades 1 - 5U4.3n/a
Winner of the 2014 Newbery Medal

Holy unanticipated occurrences! A cynic meets an unlikely superhero in a genre-breaking new novel by master storyteller Kate DiCamillo.


It begins, as the best superhero stories do, with a tragic accident that has unexpected consequences. The squirrel never saw the vacuum cleaner coming, but self-described cynic Flora Belle Buckman, who has read every issue of the comic book Terrible Things Can Happen to You!, is just the right person to step in and save him. What neither can predict is that Ulysses (the squirrel) has been born anew, with powers of strength, flight, and misspelled poetry — and that Flora will be changed too, as she discovers the possibility of hope and the promise of a capacious heart. From #1 New York Times best-selling author Kate DiCamillo comes a laugh-out-loud story filled with eccentric, endearing characters and featuring an exciting new format — a novel interspersed with comic-style graphic sequences and full-page illustrations, all rendered in black-and-white by up-and-coming artist K. G. Campbell.

Paperback, 231 pages
Published on September 13, 2016 by Candlewick
ISBN-10: 0763687642
ISBN-13: 9780763687649
81 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
Sign in to use your custom avatar.
  • piggie101
    piggie101Friday, November 2, 2018 at 6:40 am33 stars
    The beginning is pretty slow but exciting.Have not read the middle or end but you should still read it even if you don't like a superhero that is a squirrel it really only takes a weekend if your a fast but good reader. 3 Stars
    • auntieb
      auntiebSunday, August 26, 2018 at 1:59 pm55 stars
      Flora and Ulysses I first picked this book up just because I absolutely love Kate Dicamillo's writing! This book has a lot of humor and I absolutely love it!!
      • eaglegamer
        eaglegamerFriday, June 1, 2018 at 2:17 pm55 stars
        i like this book
        • SGPChauFriday, June 1, 2018 at 12:45 pm
          great
          • SGPChauFriday, June 1, 2018 at 12:44 pm
            Great book I'd wish it was a comic.
            • reader_red
              reader_redSunday, May 27, 2018 at 8:03 am55 stars
              This book was a fun one that I felt like could be read by multiple ages. I read this several years ago but I remember enjoying it very much. I may give a better review later, but this is all I got for now. reader_red
              • readingdiva
                readingdivaThursday, May 24, 2018 at 11:47 am55 stars
                it is about this girl named Flora and her neighbor gets a turbo vacuum mation (the Ulysses ) and it sucks up a squirrel. Flora saves the squirrel and names it Ulysses and the vacuum gave it super powers. Flora and Ulysses go on a wild adventure in which they encounter villains,donuts and poetry. It is an awsome book and i highly recommend it .
                • futazahyxumepe
                  futazahyxumepeTuesday, May 22, 2018 at 11:32 am55 stars
                  I REALLY loved this book, one of my top favorites! it is about a girl named who is a self diagnosed cynic, who falls in love with a squirrel. I think you should read this if you are maybe 10-13 because there are some things in the book younger children couldn't understand.
                  • horse4evs
                    horse4evsTuesday, February 27, 2018 at 5:47 am55 stars
                    This book is amazing!!!!Flora and Ulysses go on many adventures are so funny!!! With al the funny scenes and the pretty pictures this is one of the best books ever!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
                    • mistyc
                      mistycMonday, February 26, 2018 at 4:07 pm44 stars
                      "The universe is expanding."- William Spiver