Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 3 - 8Y4.987970
2016 Newbery Honor Book
New York Times Bestseller

An impassioned, uplifting, and virtuosic tour de force from a treasured storyteller!

Lost and alone in a forbidden forest, Otto meets three mysterious sisters and suddenly finds himself entwined in a puzzling quest involving a prophecy, a promise, and a harmonica.

Decades later, Friedrich in Germany, Mike in Pennsylvania, and Ivy in California each, in turn, become interwoven when the very same harmonica lands in their lives. All the children face daunting challenges: rescuing a father, protecting a brother, holding a family together. And ultimately, pulled by the invisible thread of destiny, their suspenseful solo stories converge in an orchestral crescendo.

Richly imagined and masterfully crafted, Echo pushes the boundaries of genre, form, and storytelling innovation to create a wholly original novel that will resound in your heart long after the last note has been struck.
Hardcover, 592 pages
Published on February 24, 2015 by Scholastic Press
ISBN-10: 0439874025
ISBN-13: 9780439874021
32 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
Sign in to use your custom avatar.
  • vikingsfan2008
    vikingsfan2008Monday, January 22, 2018 at 10:13 am55 stars
    Dudes this is awesome XD
    • tacosforlife
      tacosforlifeSaturday, January 13, 2018 at 5:54 pm55 stars
      A harmonica. 3 children. The same destiny. From all over the globe, three children have the same harmonica in their hands. Tragedies that question their future and a soul to be warmed. With a musical talent, they will be together forever.
      • snowybooks
        snowybooksMonday, November 6, 2017 at 8:36 pm
        This book is good for readers of older ages because it addresses many issues of the times and how, in life, when there are challenges that you must face, you must work hard to solve the problem. This book also teaches that stereotypes are never true and very offensive.
        • punowokuha
          punowokuhaThursday, October 26, 2017 at 7:54 am44 stars
          A few things only, if you like history and reading about hitler and stuff like that you will like this book.
          • spaceunicorn4
            spaceunicorn4Saturday, September 9, 2017 at 5:47 pm55 stars
            My mom told me to Read it and I LOVE IT
            • lovetolearn
              lovetolearnSunday, July 16, 2017 at 12:39 am55 stars
              It's amazing how three different people separated by distance and culture, all living through the same war, are brought together through music.
              • booklover2017
                booklover2017Wednesday, June 7, 2017 at 8:51 pm55 stars
                Full of suspense and has 3 stories that come together eventually. It is over 500 pages, but I flew through it since it was awesome.
                • BookaholicTuesday, April 18, 2017 at 1:07 pm
                  Great book. Warmed my heart to the core.
                  • YA AYETuesday, February 28, 2017 at 4:24 pm
                    Well i need a summary anyone, help?!😢
                    • drew1306
                      drew1306Friday, January 20, 2017 at 11:25 am55 stars
                      It gave me a heart warming tale that i will never forget