When orphaned Irish siblings Molly and Kip arrive to work as servants at a creepy, crumbling English manor house, they discover that the house and its inhabitants are not what they seem. Soon the siblings are confronted by a mysterious stranger and the secrets of the cursed house will change their lives forever. This much-anticipated follow up to Jonathan Auxier’s exceptional debut, Peter Nimble and His Fantastic Eyes, is a Victorian mystery in the tradition of Washington Irving and Edgar Allan Poe. The Night Gardener is a mesmerizing read and a classic in the making.
Paperback, 368 pages
Published on May 5, 2015 by Puffin Canada
ISBN-10: 0143189972
ISBN-13: 9780143189978
16 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
to use your custom avatar.
  • marlo1371474414
    marlo1371474414Friday, November 17, 2017 at 10:33 am55 stars
    oh my god it looks so cool wow!!!
    • magnacharge1600
      magnacharge1600Monday, April 17, 2017 at 3:32 pm55 stars
      This is one strange book that has a good meaning/lesson. It has some weird parts, and funny parts. I recommend this book to anyone and everyone.
      • memoiloveit
        memoiloveitMonday, July 4, 2016 at 5:50 pm44 stars
        Before I read this, I thought this book was going to be boring like other books I've read that are about nature related plots with similar uninteresting problems, but this book is really interesting. It's not the best book but it exceeded my expectations.
        • gymnastaussican
          gymnastaussicanWednesday, February 24, 2016 at 7:34 pm55 stars
          I loved this book! Two Irish kids in need of a home get sent to a mystery that haunts everybody. The house has a tree...A HUGE TREE. Gloomy and running through the whole house. The tree seems to be attached to a crumbled house. Night after night the Irish kids (now maids) hear something creeping and find the true mystery about the house and why there is so much money, candy, rings, books, and letters from parents. This book is really hooking. It keeps you in there at all times...but will it let you out?
          • meganho
            meganhoMonday, February 8, 2016 at 6:17 pm55 stars
            OMG!!!! BEST BOOK EVER!!! But the Night Man can be REALLY creepy sometimes. I got scared in a few parts, but after I finished, I DEFINATLY thought that it was a really good book.
            • SlicebotWednesday, January 6, 2016 at 10:00 am
              Very intense and interesting, 7,0000000000 stars such an awesome read.
              • sonotvic
                sonotvicSaturday, January 2, 2016 at 8:49 am
                I decided to read this book because one of my classmates recommended it. You shouldn't read it if you hate horror, but in my opinion, it's so full of mystery!
                • gymnastaussican
                  gymnastaussicanWednesday, February 24, 2016 at 7:37 pm55 stars
                  This comment is really true...but even if you don't like horror you should try it. Just don't do what I did and read it in the middle of the night.
                • bobaby
                  bobabyMonday, December 14, 2015 at 1:26 pm
                  This book is full of adventure and horror
                  • meganho
                    meganhoWednesday, November 18, 2015 at 4:29 pm55 stars
                    It's an AMAZING book! I agree with a lot of other peoples comments!
                    • lydia_swim
                      lydia_swimMonday, September 14, 2015 at 11:57 am55 stars
                      I want to read this book because I've heard a lot of great things about it. I really hope it's as good as everyone says. From what people are saying its a 5 Star book so I rated it 5 Stars but I might change that after i read it! -Hope its good!!! :)